About me

I have lived here in Bournemouth since leaving Zimbabwe in 2009. My wife June was eager to get an allotment as she was a keen gardener when she was younger. Both her parents enjoyed the garden, her dad growing vegetables, and her mom flowers. I never had a clue! I did make a rockery when I was young, but my father said that it looked like it was something that had fallen off the roof – it was positioned against the front wall of the home. So I threw off my gardening gloves for life, or so I thought.

We became the proud tenants of the allotment two years ago, and spent about three months clearing it, as it had been abandoned for a couple of years. The good thing about this was that it had not had any pesticides, herbicides or any other nasty chemical concoctions thrown over it for some time – and we wanted to be organic. Since then we’ve not used any ‘chemically things’ on our plot; we just blanket it at the end of each year in an organic manure, and make compost and we grow a bed of comfrey, from which we make up a ‘tea’. All good for the wildlife, and hopefully our stomachs too!

So, the diary is really to make me become more disciplined in recording my ongoing gardening activities – its good to look back and see what worked, what didn’t – and therefore hopefully improve my knowledge!

So, lets get started!

 

Leave a comment